Wait on it

 

1 Samuel 13:8-10

Saul waited there seven days for Samuel, as Samuel had instructed him earlier, but Samuel still didn’t come. Saul realized that his troops were rapidly slipping away. So he demanded, “Bring me the burnt offering and the peace offerings!” And Saul sacrificed the burnt offering himself.10 Just as Saul was finishing with the burnt offering, Samuel arrived. Saul went out to meet and welcome him,

Walking into work one morning I saw a sweet elderly couple sitting outside finishing their breakfast together and couldn’t help but think about how I couldn’t wait to be married. I also work with a couple on my floor and I often catch sweet moments between the two of them and to top that off two of my friends got married recently (pictures below) and their wedding was full of love, laughter and Jesus. Again, I couldn’t help but think to myself about how I couldn’t wait for my turn.

I want to use this small part of Saul’s story to shed light on the importance of waiting on God’s timing. So many of us struggle with the understanding of God’s perfect timing. I know how often I ebb and flow out of feeling like a strong independent woman (“who don’t need no man”) and feeling desperate for my right of passage to experience one of the greatest blessings God gives us, which is a spouse.

Saul couldn’t wait and it cost him his right to an entire kingdom and even worse than that if he only would have waited a few more minutes Samuel would have been there anyway.

13 “How foolish!” Samuel exclaimed. “You have not kept the command the Lord your God gave you. Had you kept it, the Lord would have established your kingdom over Israel forever. 14 But now your kingdom must end, for the Lord has sought out a man after his own heart. The Lord has already appointed him to be the leader of his people, because you have not kept the Lord’s command.”

To jump straight to the point, God’s timing will ALWAYS be different than yours. The Bible tells us that 1000 years on Earth is but a day in Heaven( 2 Peter 3:8). That means that what seems like it’s taking forever to you, has only been a short amount of time to God. God knows what you can handle, what you need, who you need in your life, what job you need, what friends you need, what hair color you needed, what skin color you needed and the list goes on and on forever. God is in control of your life and you only have to sit back enjoy life and wait on His timing.

Now with that being said, God doesn’t ever tell us that waiting is EASY, but only that we have to do it. When you wait on God to do something in your life, He A L W A Y S gives you more than you bargained for. If Saul would have waited, the kingdom of Israel would have been in his family forever, instead it was passed on to another family lineage. God can give you a better spouse than you ever could have imagined, a more amazing job, a spectacular group of friends or whatever you THINK you need or want, if you wait on God to supply it, it will be far more than you could think or imagine. We as human beings tend to forget that God has a plan for everything and we attempt to take control of our lives and push forward and do what we think is best.

The truth is that God doesn’t punish us for our inability to wait on His timing, but we do miss out on the blessing that He had in store for us. God wants you to focus on His calling on your life and the plan He has set before you, rather than racing to get to the end only to find out that what He had planned for you was far better than what you had planned for yourself.

I would challenge you today to think about all of the things that you want in your life, all the way down to the smallest most seemingly insignificant detail and then once you have your list, pray to God for every single one of those things but most importantly commit them to His timing. Tell God that you’re willing to wait for what He knows is best for you, regardless of how long that might take or whatever valley or peak you have to climb to get there. When you’re willing to give every part of yourself to God, He’ll show up in ways you never imagined, including supplying needs you might not even know you had.

If you’ve made it this far, thanks for reading & God Bless You ❤

4 thoughts on “Wait on it

  1. K Marie says:

    Thank you for this reminder. It is something I really needed today as I have had to cope with something that was very disappointing for me. 😦 I have to remind myself to always trust God and His timing. Truly, thank you for this. God bless.

    Like

  2. Jake Byrd says:

    I myself had recently become frustrated that I did not have a few things happening in my life that would have given me peace and motivation. I began to resort to my own efforts due to my impatience in “waiting” on God. And sure enough, in my morning devotion the other day, God spoke to me through the words of David. In David’s patience for deliverance and experiencing the blessings of the Lord, he writes, “Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” (Psalm 27:14, ESV). This hit me hard. I slowed down, refocused on Christ, and took refuge in the peace of God and His providence. Of course, it was not long after I had made a genuine commitment to “wait” on God and stop trying to force it myself that He provided more abundantly than I imagined He would! I know He does not always provide for our desires immediately, and that He may not even provide for that desire according to His good purposes, but He does know what we need and does surprise us with His love! I appreciate your follow Camille (I know your name because of the about page lol) and I enjoyed reading this! God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

