Overcoming anxiety to be the light in a dark world.

Can I get a witness?

 

Acts 1:8

8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”                            

I was always a very quiet, shy child growing up. I was nice to people and always made friends easily but I didn’t like being the center of attention so I pretty much stayed quite unless spoken to. In middle school I made two best friends and over time started to speak out more and more with their encouragement. In college I came out of my shell even more, especially once I started having classes with the same people from my major over and over again. I still have a tendency to become quite reserved, especially if I have something on my mind, but once I realized the intention that God has for each of His children, my perspective changed. Allow me to explain.

1. God has a plan for your life.

The book of Acts is chock full of miracles, awe inspiring faith and examples to live by as a Christian. Jesus’ disciples wasted no time carrying on His message once he ascended back into Heaven. This one small verse from Acts shows us exactly what God’s intentions are for us who believe in Him. To be His witnesses. Simple as that. He isn’t asking for any more or any less of you than to go into the world and tell people about Him. He tells us that the Holy Spirit will come upon us (once we accept Him into our lives) and will go with us to share the good news. God doesn’t expect you to do anything in this life alone. He will provide you with everything you need.

2. Knowing the word allows you to recognize God’s voice.

Now for someone as introverted as I was as a child this seemed impossible and it wasn’t until recently that I realized exactly how this applied to my life today. So often we read passages in the Bible and we think they don’t apply to us because “times are different”, but the truth is, even if it doesn’t apply to your current situation in life, it will in your future. That’s why God expects you to hide the scriptures in your heart and not just read them, truly KNOW them because you will need them in different stages of life.

3. Faith over fear.

As an adult working in the business world, not only have I had to overcome my fear of speaking to people, I’ve had to fully embrace the person God has called me to be and now people who know me assume that I’ve always been an extrovert because of my ability to talk to anyone. The truth is, I’m still overcome by fear most of the time, but my passion for sharing the gospel of Christ overtakes my fear because I know that the Holy Spirit is with me.

Application

  1. Be yourself.

So how do you apply this scripture to your life? Well it’s going to look different for everyone. If you’re like me, striking up a conversation with strangers can be intimidating  so I don’t just randomly ask someone if they know Christ (plus let’s be honest, no one likes when you do that anyway). I can be the light of Jesus by being myself, which is smiling at people, showing them kindness when others don’t, using the example of Jesus which is to love people no matter who they are or what they’ve done.

My position at work involves a lot of time speaking on the phone with people and interacting with the general public. I show the light of Jesus by being compassionate, empathetic and understanding when people expect me to be angry or giving them a word of Hope when the expect me to speak negatively. I talk about my life at church and I make sure to speak life instead of death to everyone.

2. Be the light, even if it’s just a small light.

For you, it might be easier to talk to strangers about your life or to share an encouraging word or pray for someone. Perhaps you’re in a position where talking about God isn’t allowed or could get you in trouble but know that Jesus faced a lot of opposition in sharing His message and through love and kindness made a bigger impact than His preaching ever did.

The truth is the only way you’re going to find out how to share God’s message with others is by asking Him. Ask God to show you the best way for you share His message with your given talents, personality and season of life. Trust that God will give the tools to use and the opportunities to be His witness. Trust that God will never leave you on your own or ask you do something that He is not involved in. Trust that He gave you your personality and position in life for a reason and trust that you can be His light everywhere you go.

If you’ve made it this far, Thank You & God Bless ❤

 

 

One thought on “Can I get a witness?

Leave a Reply

