Overcoming Comparison

2 Corinthians 10:12 

“Not that we dare to classify or compare ourselves with some of those who are commending themselves. But when they measure themselves by one another and compare themselves with one another, they are without understanding.”

Lately the topic of comparison keeps coming up everywhere I turn. In blogs, in sermons, in conversation with my friends and family and it leaves me wondering why. Why do we find the need to look at others and either create a fall sense of security, become critical and mean or become insecure in what God has given us? Just this morning I heard a great sermon by Pastor Steven Furtick called ” When Measurements Mislead” and it was all the confirmation I needed that God is speaking to me about this topic.

I’m personally not one that lives to compare my life to those around me (anymore). I’ve had to travel a long, difficult road to overcome that spirit within me that desires to have what someone else has, look like someone else, sing like someone else, BE someone else. The easiest way to overcome that was when I realized how much it has to break my Heavenly Father’s heart when He thinks that I don’t want to be the person He made me to be. I was uniquely designed and hand crafted by Him and I was saying that what He did wasn’t good enough!

  1. God designed us each for a purpose

As a musician I often find myself surrounded by other musicians. Which is H A R D. There’s always been someone more capable at playing every instrument than me and someone who was always a stronger vocalist or leader than I was. Being around people who are designed to walk in a similar calling as you will always be hard because we as human beings are flawed into believing that there always has to be a person on top, someone who is the best at everything and equality isn’t something we innately are comfortable with. The truth is however, regardless of how we FEEL, God didn’t tell us to be driven by our feelings but by His power and His Spirit. So, if we override that initial feeling of comparing ourselves to someone else we come to a powerful conclusion that God has designed us each for a unique purpose.

My best friends who are worship leaders and creative people are designed to do something for God’s Kingdom that I am not designed to do. One of my closest friends is a Worship Leader at our church and each week that we sing together on stage we carry a different presence during worship. We could easily look at each other with jealousy and envy but instead have chosen to support one another and be genuinely proud of one another’s accomplishments. Because we do this, we each have been able to grow and develop the skills and gifts that God has given us all while enjoying the gift of friendship along the way.

2. God will use you in ways that are greater than your understanding.

One of my favorite things about a relationship with God is that I truly never know what He has in store. So often I have my own plan and dreams and things I want to do and when I submit them to His plan and will for my life it ALWAYS and I mean A L W A Y S turns out so much better than what I had planned. God gave me a word and promise for my life a long time ago and to be honest only a small part of my life right now reflects anything close to that, but I know that getting caught up in what other people are doing and how their calling looks will only delay my own promise and fulfillment on my life because I’ll try to rush past the things that God has for me in order to get to the finish line. I only know what God promised me would happen, I don’t know the journey that will get me there.

I love the story of the Israelites as they were about to inhabit the promise land and how God told them they would have to march around the walls of Jericho THEN they would have to go into battle. They had a word from God that this was their land and even still they had to fight to have it. God always delights in fulfilling His promise over your life but you have to obey His plan even in those tough and difficult times.

3. God delights in exactly how He created you.

The world today has such a warped view on what our “normal” should be. In all honesty if we lived our lives the true way that God has called us to, the world would think we were all totally insane. When you read the book of Acts and see how the Apostles lived, their faith and actions of faith made the society then think that they were totally and completely deranged. People were afraid of them and what they could do and whoever you are reading this, God has called you to the exact same thing.

Can you imagine what the world would be like today had the disciples worried about what their companion was doing? If Peter has compared himself to John and what God called Him to do, and they each just constantly tried to out-do the other? Instead of making one of the greatest advances in the Christian history, the Gospel could have never made it out of the eastern hemisphere. God designed the disciples and He designed YOU exactly how He wanted to, with the personality He needed you to have, with the physical appearance He needed you to have, the gifts, the talents and every single part of you that He delighted in making.

4. God has gifts for everyone.

I once heard a young girl who leads worship with her sister tell a story of a dream she had. She had been dealing with comparison to her sister and kept struggling with feelings of insecurity and jealousy. One night God showed her a vision of her and her sister. She had one giant pile of gifts and her sister had another giant pile of gifts. Her sister had a drum set, a microphone, and all these other things that she does and enjoys, and the other sister had a guitar and a microphone and all these other things that SHE does and enjoys. Then God spoke to her and said “I’ve given you both the same amount of gifts, but they are different”.

That story is one I will never forget, because it speaks to the heart of our Father. He will never leave you with less than someone else, it’s about your acknowledgment of the gifts He has given you. Don’t let the spirit of comparison keep you from living in ALL that God has for you. Don’t let looking to the left and right keep you from noticing the Father right in front of you. Don’t lose out on the promise that God has spoken over your life because someone else’s life looks like something you might want. God has a plan for you that no one else will be able to do and fulfill in the way that you can.

If you’ve made it this far, Thank You & God Bless You ❤

 

Leave a Reply

